

EUROMECH Fellows Regulations and Call for Nominations

The status of Fellow of EUROMECH, the European Mechanics Society, is awarded on the occasion of either the Fluid or Solid Mechanics conferences to members of the Mechanics community who have contributed significantly to the advancement of Mechanics and related fields. This may be through their original research and publications, or their innovative contributions in the application of Mechanics and technological developments, or through distinguished contributions to the discipline in other ways.

Election to the status of Fellow of EUROMECH, either Fluid or Solid, will take place the year before the corresponding EUROMECH Conference, European Fluid Dynamics Conference (EFDC) or European Solid Mechanics Conference (ESMC), and is limited in total (fluids and solids together) to no more than 0,5% of the actual members of the Society at the time of awarding.

Nomination Guidelines:

A nomination may be submitted by any member of the EUROMECH Society, hereafter called the *nominator*. Eligible candidates should be members of EUROMECH and have undertaken a significant proportion of their scientific career in Europe. Self-nominations cannot be accepted.

The nomination follows a two-step procedure:

- in the first step, the nominator sends an email to the Committee Chair and the Secretary General of EUROMECH, specifying the name and affiliation of the nominee, and a 10- to 15-line motivation text in which she/he explains why and for which achievements the nominee deserves in her/his view to become a EUROMECH Fellow.
- the committee examines all nominations received by the deadline and establishes a short list gathering the strongest nominations. Nominators whose nominee is retained on this list are contacted by the committee chair and are invited to submit a formal nomination package. This package should include the following items:
 - a presentation letter signed by the nominator and co-signed by three conominators who must be from three different countries and institutions and not from the nominator's institution, summarizing the contributions and achievements of the nominee in support of his/her nomination as Fellow (the form can be downloaded at https://euromech.org/fellows)
 - a curriculum vitae of the nominee;
 - a selection of the nominee's most significant publications (20 publications maximum);
 - a suggested citation to appear on the Fellowship certificate (30 words maximum);

www.euromech.org

PRESIDENT Marc Geers m.g.d.geers@tue.nl

VICE PRESIDENT Gert Jan van Heijst g.j.f.v.heijst@tue.nl

SECRETARY GENERAL
Jacques Magnaudet
Institut de Mécanique des Fluides de Toulouse
Allée du Professeur Camille Soula
31400 Toulouse, France
jacques.magnaudet@imft.fr

MANAGEMENT ADVISOR Sara Guttilla sara.guttilla@euromech.org

TREASURER Stefanie Reese stefanie.reese@rwth-aachen.de



 a supporting paragraph enlarging on the citation, indicating the originality and significance of the contributions cited (limit 250 words).

All documents should be written (or translated) in English.

Nomination Process:

The Fellows are selected the year before the respective EFDC and ESMC. Nominations need to be sent to the Secretary General of EUROMECH **not later than September 30 of year N-1, if N is the year of the EFDC or ESMC**. Nominations remain active for two selection campaigns. Nominations are reviewed before the end of year N-1 by the relevant EUROMECH Prize Committee and recipients are selected from the nominations. The final decision is made by the EUROMECH Council.

Ethics:

Members of the EUROMECH Council and of the Prize committees are not eligible for EUROMECH awards and cannot act as nominators. The nominators or support letter writers should disclose the nature of their professional relationship with the nominee.

Fellowship committees:

For each prize, a Prize and Fellowship Committee, with a Chair and five additional members is appointed by the EUROMECH Council for a period of two rounds, that is four years for the Fluid Mechanics Fellowships and six years for the Solids Mechanics Fellowship. The Chair and the five additional members may be reappointed once.

Fluid Mechanics Prize and Fellowship Committee:

- A. Bottaro (Chair)
- J. H. M. Fransson
- C. Martinez-Bazàn
- F. Tavares de Pinho
- C. Wagner
- S. Waters

Solid Mechanics Prize and Fellowship Committee:

- K. Ellermann
- N. Fleck
- C. Niordson
- A Pandolfi (Chair)
- P. Steinmann
- E. Van der Giessen

Addresses:

Prof. Alesssandro Bottaro (Chair, Fluids) Università di Genova, Dipartimento di Ingegneria Civile, Chimica e Ambientale

via Montallegro 1, 16145 Genova, Italy

Email: Alessandro.Bottaro@unige.it

Prof. Anna Pandolfi (Chair, Solids)
Politecnico di Milano
Dipartimento di Ingegneria Civile e Ambientale
Piazza Leonardo da Vinci, 32
20133 Milano, Italy

Email: anna.pandolfi@polimi.it

www.euromech.org

PRESIDENT Marc Geers m.g.d.geers@tue.nl

VICE PRESIDENT Gert Jan van Heijst g.j.f.v.heijst@tue.nl

SECRETARY GENERAL
Jacques Magnaudet
Institut de Mécanique des Fluides de Toulouse
Allée du Professeur Camille Soula
31400 Toulouse, France
jacques.magnaudet@imft.fr

MANAGEMENT ADVISOR Sara Guttilla sara.guttilla@euromech.org

TREASURER
Stefanie Reese
stefanie.reese@rwth-aachen.de