Regulations and Call for Fellow Nominations

The EUROMECH - European Mechanics Society Council has the pleasure to announce the introduction of the category of EUROMECH Fellow, starting in 2006. The status of Fellow of EUROMECH, the European Mechanics Society, is awarded on the occasions of Fluid and Solid conferences to members of the Mechanics community who have contributed significantly to the advancement of mechanics and related fields. This may be through their original research and publications, or their innovative contributions in the application of mechanics and technological developments, or through distinguished contribution to the discipline in other ways.

Election to the status of Fellow of EUROMECH, Fluid or Solid, will take place the year before the appropriate EUROMECH Conference, European Fluid Mechanics Conference (EFMC) or European Solid Mechanics Conference (ESMC), and is limited in total (fluids and solids together) to no more than one-half of one percent of the then current membership of the Society.

Nomination conditions:

A nomination may be submitted by any member of the EUROMECH Society, hereafter called the nominator. Eligible candidates should be members of EUROMECH and have undertaken a significant proportion of their scientific career in Europe. Self-nominations cannot be accepted.
The nomination documents should include the following items:

  • a presentation letter from the nominator summarizing the contributions and achievements of the nominee in support of his/her nomination as Fellow. In addition to the nominator, this nomination letter must be co-signed by at least three faculty members. The four signatories must be active in four different countries;
  • a curriculum vitae of the nominee;
  • a selection of the nominee's most significant publications (20 publications maximum);
  • a nomination form filled and signed by the nominator and the three co-nominators;
  • a suggested citation to appear on the Fellowship certificate (30 words maximum);
  • a supporting paragraph enlarging on the citation, indicating the originality and significance of the contributions cited (limit 250 words).

All documents should be written (or translated) in English.

Nomination Process:

The Fellows are selected the year before the respective EFMC and ESMC. Nomination packages need to be sent as electronic files to the Chair of the Fellowship Committee with a copy to the President and to the Secretary General of EUROMECH before 30 September of year N-1, if N is the year of the EFMC or ESMC. Nominations remain active for two selection campaigns. Nominations are reviewed before the end of October by the relevant EUROMECH Prize Committee and a recipient is selected from the nominations. The final decision is made by the EUROMECH Council.


Members of the EUROMECH Council and of the Prize committees are not eligible for EUROMECH awards and cannot act as nominators. The nominators or support letter writers should disclose the nature of their professional relationship with the nominee.


For each prize, a Fellow Committee, with a Chair and five additional members is appointed by the EUROMECH Council. The appointment is for four years for the Fluid Mechanics Fellow Committee and for six years for the Solid Mechanics Fellow Committee, corresponding to a two-round period for each committee. The committees are renewed by half after each round.

The members of the Fluid Mechanics Fellow Committee are:

  • N. Peake (chair)
  • L. Biferale
  • E. Guazzelli
  • B. Hof
  • J. H. Snoeijer
  • J. Tsamopoulos
The members of the Solid Mechanics Fellow Committee are: 
  • V. Tvergaard (chair)
  • O. Allix
  • P. Camanho
  • K. Ellermann
  • N. Fleck
  • E. Van der Giessen

Chairmen's Addresses

Prof. Nigel Peake
University of Cambridge
Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics
Wilberforce Road
Cambridge CB3 0WA
United Kingdom

Prof. Viggo Tvergaard
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Nils Koppels Allé, Building 404
2800 Kgs. Lyngby

Prof. Marc Geers (President)
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Eindhoven University of Technology
P.O. Box 513
5600 MB Eindhoven
The Netherlands

Prof. Jacques Magnaudet (Secretary General)
Institut de Mécanique des Fluides de Toulouse
Allée du Professeur Camille Soula
31400 Toulouse