Regulations and Call for Prize Nominations

The Fluid Mechanics Prize and the Solid Mechanics Prize of EUROMECH, the European Mechanics Society, are awarded on the occasions of Fluid and Solid conferences for outstanding and fundamental research accomplishments in Mechanics.

Each prize consists of €5000. The recipient is invited to give a Prize Lecture at the appropriate EUROMECH Conference, European Fluid Dynamics Conference (EFDC) or European Solid Mechanics Conference (ESMC). 

Nomination Guidelines

A nomination may be submitted by any member of the EUROMECH Society, hereafter called the nominator. Eligible candidates should have undertaken a significant proportion of their scientific career in Europe. Self-nominations cannot be accepted.

The nomination documents should include the following items:

  • a presentation letter from the nominator summarizing the contributions and achievements of the nominee in support of his/her nomination for the Prize;
  • a curriculum vitae of the nominee;
  • a selection of the nominee's most significant publications (20 publications maximum);
  • two letters of support in addition to the presentation by the nominator;
  • a suggested citation to appear on the Prize Certificate (30 words maximum);
  • a supporting paragraph enlarging on the citation, indicating the originality and significance of the contributions cited (limit 250 words).

All documents should be written (or translated) in English.


The Prize winners are selected the year before the respective EFDC and ESMC. Nomination packages need to be sent as electronic files to the Chair of the Prize Committee with a copy to the President and to the Secretary General of EUROMECH before 30 September of year N-1, if N is the year of the EFDC or ESMC. Nominations remain active for two selection campaigns. Nominations are reviewed before the end of December by the relevant EUROMECH Prize Committee and a recipient is selected from the nominations. The final decision is made by the EUROMECH Council.


Members of the EUROMECH Council and of the Prize committees are not eligible for EUROMECH awards and cannot act as nominators. The nominators or support letter writers should disclose the nature of their professional relationship with the nominee. 

Prize Committees

For each prize, a Prize and Fellowship Committee, with a Chair and five additional members is appointed by the EUROMECH Council for a period of two rounds, that is four years for the Fluid Mechanics Fellowships and six years for the Solids Mechanics Fellowship. The Chair and the five additional members may be re-appointed once

The members of the Fluid Mechanics Prize and Fellow Committee are:

  • Alessandro Bottaro (Chair)
  • Jens H. M. Fransson
  • Carlos Martinez-Bazan
  • Fernando Tavares de Pinho
  • Christian Wagner
  • Sarah Waters

The members of the Solid Mechanics Prize and Fellow Committee are: 

  • Anna Pandolfi (Chair)
  • Katrin Ellermann
  • Norman Fleck
  • Christian Niordson
  • Paul Steinmann
  • Erik Van der Giessen

Chairperson's Addresses

Prof. Alessandro Bottaro
Università di Genova
Dipartimento di Ingegneria Civile, Chimica e Ambientale
Via Montallegro 1
16145 Genova

Prof. Anna Pandolfi
(Chair, Solids)
Dipartimento di Ingegneria Civile ed Ambientale
Politecnico di Milano
Piazza L. Da Vinci, 32
20133, Milan

Prof. Marc Geers (President)
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Eindhoven University of Technology
P.O. Box 513
5600 MB Eindhoven
The Netherlands

Prof. Jacques Magnaudet (Secretary General)
Institut de Mécanique des Fluides de Toulouse
Allée du Professeur Camille Soula
31400 Toulouse