Fluid Mechanics Prizes

Professor Patrick Huerre

For his outstanding achievements in the field of hydrodynamic instabilities, and his major contributions to the European Mechanics community

Laboratoire d'Hydrodynamique
CNRS / Ecole Polytechnique
F - 91128 Palaiseau Cedex

email: huerre@ladhyx.polytechnique.fr

Prize awarded at: 14th European Fluid Mechanics Conference 13 – 16 September 2022

Professor Uriel Frisch

For his outstanding contribution to the modern theory of hydrodynamic and magnetohydrodynamic turbulence, including seminal work on statistical
hydrodynamics, the multifractal formalism, and the numerical simulation of turbulent flows.

Laboratoire Lagrange
Observatoire de la Côte d’Azur
Boulevard de l’Observatoire
CS 34229 - F 06304 NICE Cedex

email: uriel@oca.eu

Prize awarded at: 13th European Fluid Mechanics Conference 6 – 10 September 2020

Javier Jimenez

For his profound and lasting contributions to turbulence, notably wall turbulence, advancing our understanding through the introduction of groundbreaking physical concepts and for his pioneering work in numerical simulations of turbulent flows that have widespread educational influence.

Fluid Dynamics Group
School of Aeronautics
Universidad Politecnica de Madrid
Plaze de Cardenal Cisneros 3
Madrid, Spain


Prize awarded at: 12th European Fluid Mechanics Conference 9 – 13 September 2018

Elisabeth Guazzelli

In recognition of her ground-breaking experiments on sedimenting suspensions, demonstrating the origin of particle fluctuations and cluster formation, for her decisive guidance of theory through focused experiments, and for her important contributions to the European mechanics community.

Groupe Ecoulements de Particules (GEP)
Laboratoire IUSTI - CNRS UMR 7343
5 rue Enrico Fermi
13453 Marseille cedex 13

email: elisabeth.guazzelli@univ-amu.fr

Prize awarded at: 11th European Fluid Mechanics Conference 13 – 16 September 2016

Andrea Prosperetti

In recognition of his profound, seminal contributions to fluid dynamics and acoustics in general and to bubble dynamics and rain noise in particular, including the development of novel numerical techniques, and for his world leadership in these fields and his brilliance in their applications to engineering.

Department of Mechanical Engineering
Johns Hopkins University
3400 N. Charles Street
Baltimore MD 21218

email: prosper@jhu.edu

Prize awarded at: 10th European Fluid Mechanics Conference 14 – 18 September 2014

Yves Couder

For experiments in fluid mechanics which are novel, elegant, deep and provocative.

Département de Physique de l'Ecole Normale Supérieure
24, rue Lhomond
75230 Paris Cedex 05

email: Yves.Couder@physique.ens.fr

Prize awarded at: 9th European Fluid Mechanics Conference 9 – 13 September 2012

John Hinch

For his exceptionally insightful contributions to fluid mechanics covering an extraordinarily wide range of topics including micro-hydrodynamics, interfacial flows, colloidal dispersions, suspension mechanics and sedimentation, flow through porous media, particulate and granular flows, polymer rheology and non-Newtonian fluid dynamics and for his innovative contributions to a variety of industrial processes.

Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics (DAMTP)
University of Cambridge
Wilberforce Road

email: ejh1@cam.ac.uk

Prize awarded at: 8th European Fluid Mechanics Conference 13 – 16 September 2010

Friedrich Busse

For his many outstanding contributions to fluid mechanics, most notably in the areas of thermal convection and pattern forming instabilities, geophysical flows and magnetohydrodynamic dynamos, and mathematical bounds on turbulent transport.

Theoretical Physics
Universiät Bayreuth
95440 Bayreuth

email: Busse@uni-bayreuth.de

Prize awarded at: 7th European Fluid Mechanics Conference 14 – 18 September 2008

Emil Hopfinger

For his seminal work in at least three major areas of fluid mechanics: Stratified flows, waves and gravity currents; Rotating flows and vortex dynamics; Turbulence, interfacial instabilities and atomization. For his scientific breadth and remarkable impact on several fundamental issues in the field, and last but not least for his distinguished service to the European Fluid Mechanics community.

Domaine Universitaire
B.P. Box 53
F-38041 Grenoble Cedex 09

email: emil.hopfinger@hmg.inpg.fr

Prize awarded at: 6th European Fluid Mechanics Conference 26 – 30 June 2006

Keith Moffatt

For his outstanding accomplishments and beautifully creative ideas in theoretical fluid mechanics which have had a lasting impact in the development of the field, in particular for his seminal contributions to the study of turbulence and magnetohydrodynamics with the identification of helicity as a key concept in the understanding of global flow features and the creation of the new field of topological fluid dynamics, for his equally impressive analyses of low Reynolds number flows with the introduction of the notions of Moffatt eddies in flows near a sharp corner and cusp singularities in free surface flows.

Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics (DAMTP)
University of Cambridge
Wilberforce Road

email: h.k.moffatt@damtp.cam.ac.uk

Prize awarded at: 5th European Fluid Mechanics Conference 24 – 28 August 2003