On 3 April 1993, the European Mechanics Council adopted Statutes and Procedures to effect its transformation into EUROMECH - European Mechanics Society.

The members of the Council for 1993 declared themselves to be the founding members.
"Between 3 April 1993 and 1 January 1995, the existing Council will function as the Interim Council of the Society, with D. G. Crighton (University of Cambridge, presently Chairman) as President, B. Lundberg (Uppsala University, presently Secretary) as Secretary-General and E.-A. Müller (Georg August University, Göttingen) as Treasurer. Members of the Council under the new Statutes will enter into office on 1 January 1995 following elections to be held in 1994."

The Council has overall responsibility for Euromech Colloquia and Euromech Conferences. The latter presently comprise the European Fluid Mechanics Conference, the European Mechanics of Materials Conference, the European Solid Mechanics Conference, the European Turbulence Conference and the European Nonlinear Dynamics Conference .